Today we're busting out of our comfort zone by talking to three strangers. Let us know how it goes.

Views: 1296

Replies to This Discussion

ACK!!!
Wow. This will be a difficult task for me and one that will take me some time to do. With people I know, I am well but not with strangers. I'll have to get out someplace to be able to do this. It is a great task to be a better man.
I had inadvertently done this today although without the benefit of the tips presented in the article. I have been working on severe shyness for a few years now, and I've found that a simple, "Hi, how are you" is the best all purpose opener. Most of the time, people are relieved that someone else took the initiative (including me when the tables are turned). The hardest thing for me is getting over the need to win over absolutely everyone I speak with.

I am learning to accept that not every conversation will be successful. This is inevitable, but the flip side is that the greatest thing about talking to strangers is the ability to practice. If it doesn't work out, who cares, chances are slim you'll never see each other again. Thus we can make and learn from mistakes without them following us around.
posted - http://dadofdivas.blogspot.com

I don't see this as a challenge today as in my job I get to talk to strangers all of the time. In my life as a College Administrator, I get to encounter strangers both in the sense of current and prospective students as well as other guests to campus.

The challenge for me revolves around talking to strangers outside of work. I tend to be find with this at work, but once I get home, I don't go out of my way always to get to know strangers, at least not as much as I do at work.

Don't get me wrong, I am an extrovert and can get out there with the best of them, but sometimes, I just don't seem to go with the flow in the direction if you know what I mean.