Good morning all, 

I'm new around here but looking forward to getting involved.

I live in a small town in Leeds, Yorkshire, England - grew up here, will probably never leave.

I'm 42, married to an amazing woman and have two little boys, aged 5 and 2.5. Collectively this is my world. The conversation we often have with ourselves about why we're here, our "raison d'etre", what we're supposed to do - those questions were answered for me with my first born. I was put here to be a dad.

I like to run and be outdoors. I'm not very good but I'm trying to lose some weight right now which will make a big difference in more than one area of my life.

Been reading/listening to the Art of Manliness for several years now and so much has resonated, it's simply an awesome site. This is the next stage of that, as I didn't realise there was a community here.

Workwise, I work for a cloud ERP company as their online Community Manager. 

Looking forward to engaging, sharing and learning with and from you all.

Nick

Views: 40

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Welcome aboard! Mine are 6 and 8.

Let's see how that running works out. You're inspiring me to get off my rear and run. So I'm going to do that... right now.

Glad to hear you're heading back out for a run - its a great opportunity for some fresh air (depending on you run I guess), some time with your thoughts, and a chance to improve your health a touch. I've been running for a while now, am not very good but do enjoy it. I had a few months out last year and am just getting back in it, although the fitness is hard to get back right now!

Welcome!  I'm 46 and also a dad.  We have two still at home -- 16 and 7. 

RSS

Latest Activity

Pale Horse replied to Lumberjoe's discussion What happens when Islamic sexism meets Icelandic feminism / gender equality? Let's find out! in the group The Great Debate
"Daggumit, Shane, read Dune."
14 minutes ago
Pale Horse replied to Pale Horse's discussion Best Methods for Cutting Down on Sweets
"Or better yet, think of the people who unironically have waifus!"
16 minutes ago
Pale Horse replied to Pale Horse's discussion Best Methods for Cutting Down on Sweets
"Wow, congratulations. My goal is just to have a more healthful diet. I am not overweight, but I do have a family history of diabetes, and I know eventually when I'm older that eating junk food will have greater consequences. Thanks for the…"
17 minutes ago
Pale Horse replied to Pale Horse's discussion Best Methods for Cutting Down on Sweets
"Good point on changing the mindset. I think most of us have an "I shouldn't" frame of mind rather than an "I don't" frame of mind, at least when it comes to vices. I'm not sure I want to watch one of those…"
20 minutes ago
Pale Horse replied to Pale Horse's discussion Best Methods for Cutting Down on Sweets
"Same here, an ice cold coke is one of the best things on earth. Mexican coke is more expensive here too, so maybe if I only drink that I'll cut down out of monetary necessity!"
24 minutes ago
Braeden replied to Lumberjoe's discussion What happens when Islamic sexism meets Icelandic feminism / gender equality? Let's find out! in the group The Great Debate
"If Shane and Clinton have united against you, its time to stop and think about your life."
27 minutes ago
Sir replied to Lumberjoe's discussion What happens when Islamic sexism meets Icelandic feminism / gender equality? Let's find out! in the group The Great Debate
"It's always possible to put spin on.  Doesn't mean much, though."
28 minutes ago
Clinton R. Ausmus replied to Lumberjoe's discussion What happens when Islamic sexism meets Icelandic feminism / gender equality? Let's find out! in the group The Great Debate
"You completely missed the point..."
32 minutes ago

© 2017   Created by Brett McKay.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service