Eating 2000 calories a day, on a budget. A serious budget.

Well, here's the scoop guys. I'm a student and legislative Intern with the House of Representatives in Washington D.C. Hooray for that, because the career opportunities are immense. Here's the problem; It's unpaid. To make a long story short, after rent, metro passes, and tuition payments, I have $880 to live on until April. I've been buying Progresso beef stew/canned chili on sale at target, and packets of instant rice, also at Target, and these items generally run under $2 each. I'll eat oatmeal and have a tall glass of whole milk at breakfast, which means I'm spending under $5 a day on food. Unfortunately I'm still not consuming enough calories, and i don't believe that this diet is very healthy either. To make things even harder, I have no stove or oven in my apartment, only a microwave, sink, and small refrigerator.

I've been looking at buying black beans/pinto beans in bulk, but I feel like it would be a serious hassle to cook, because all online recipes call for 35 minutes or longer cook time in the microwave, not to mention 8 to 10 hours soaking. I'm also considering buying potatoes, but iI'm unsure of how i would store them, or how easily i could cook them in the microwave.

I'm interested in hearing any ideas about how to make this work. I'm trying to plan a diet that will meet basic nutrition requirements, provide me with 3 meals a day, and cost less than $6 per day, without the use of an oven or stovetop.

I appreciate the help, and I'm really hoping that i can plan a healthy and filling diet.

-Evan

Tags: Budget, Diet, Eating, Student

Views: 1851

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Girlfriend who works in a restaurant? 

Hmm... I'll have to ponder. 

Unfortunately the GF lives back in San Francisco! But otherwise, excellent idea.

I wonder if you can get or borrow a hot plate.  Because for me, microwaves aren't for cooking, they're for reheating.